Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

European Diplomas of the Council of Europe: 12 municipalities on the 2012 honours list

Strasbourg, 28.06.2012 – Mayors of 12 prize-winning municipalities were today presented in Strasbourg with the European Diploma 2012, on the occasion of a ceremony attended by some 50 participants.

Liliane Maury-Pasquier (Switzerland, SOC), Chairperson of the PACE Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development and Sir Alan Meale (United Kingdom, SOC), Chairperson of the PACE Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize, awarding the Diplomas, welcomed the enthusiasm shown by the European local authorities that took part in the ceremony: about ten mayors from several European countries travelled to Strasbourg.

The Diploma not only acknowledges the work done at European level by the prize-winning municipalities, but also serves as an incentive to develop it further through contacts with twin towns and other European partners.

The prize-winners are:

France Parthenay (Deux-Sèvres)
Triel-sur-Seine (Yvelines)

Germany Herten (North Rhine-Westphalia)
Neudrossenfeld (Bavaria)

Italy Cerrione (Province of Biella)
San Benedetto del Tronto (Province of Ascoli Piceno)
Scapoli (Province of Isernia)

Poland Mława (Mazowieckie voivodship)

Portugal Lousada (District of Porto)

Romania Mioveni (Argeş County)

Turkey Gaziantep (South-East Anatolia)
Safranbolu (Province of Karabük)

The European Diploma was first presented by the Parliamentary Assembly in 1988. It rewards the efforts of municipalities which may then also be awarded the Flag of Honour, the Plaque of Honour and the Europe Prize (awarded in 2012 to the Italian town of Corciano and the Romanian town of Sighişoara).