Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle


Nuremberg wins the 2007 Europe Prize

01/06/2007 | Prizes

The 2007 Europe Prize has been awarded to the German town of Nuremberg in Germany. The decision was taken unanimously by PACE's Committee on the Environment, Agriculture and Local and Regional Affairs meeting today in Paris. This Bavarian town developed fourteen twinnings throughout the world, nine of them in Europe, supported by ten twinning committees but also by numerous associations and volunteers. Nuremberg’s International Relations Office, which co-ordinates all twinning activities, estimated that more than 55,000 people had been involved in more than 5,000 twinning activities since 1991.

Norwegian Nobel Committee to receive the 'European prize for Human Rights 2007'

21/02/2007 | Prizes

On 23 February 2007, the European Foundation for Culture, Pro Europa, will award the “European prize for Human Rights 2007” to the Norwegian Nobel Committee. The ceremony will take place in the hearing room of the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg, at 3pm. Bernard Schreiner, Vice-President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) and President of the French delegation to PACE, will award the prize.

Geneva Museum of the Reformation wins 2007 Council of Europe Museum Prize

08/12/2006 | Prizes

The Council of Europe Museum Prize for 2007 has been awarded to the International Museum of the Reformation, Geneva. Housed on the spot where the people of Geneva voted to adopt Reformation in 1536, the museum features displays on the Bible, the work of Calvin, religious controversy with other Christian traditions, the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, Protestant resistance to fascism, missionary work and the role of women in the ministry.

Award ceremony for the 2006 Europe Prize in the Hungarian town of Szeged

26/09/2006 | Prizes

The 2006 Europe Prize – which rewards cities and towns for their active promotion of the European ideal – was awarded to the Hungarian town of Szeged on 22 September at a ceremony attended by more than 2000 people. The town’s mayor, Lászó Botka, received the award from the Chair of PACE’s Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize Guy Lengagne. Szeged is the first town in Hungary to receive the prize, the highest distinction possible in this field.

Szeged in Hungary wins the 2006 Europe Prize

12/05/2006 | Prizes

The 2006 Europe Prize, the highest distinction that can be bestowed on a town or local authority for its actions in the European domain, has been awarded to the town of Szeged. It is the first time a Hungarian town has received the prize. The decision was taken unanimously by PACE's Environment Committee, meeting today in Paris. The "Plaque of Honour", the second highest distinction, was awarded to ten towns in six countries. Some 25 municipalities received the "Flag of honour" and 27 were granted the "European Diploma".

Churchill Museum in London wins 2006 Council of Europe Museum Prize

01/12/2005 | Prizes

The Council of Europe's Museum Prize for 2006 has been awarded to the Churchill Museum in London. The Museum, which opened in February 2005, was praised for its use of the latest technology to draw on the extensive archives in presentations that are readily accessible to older and younger generations. The Museum Prize has been awarded annually since 1977 to a museum judged to have made a significant contribution to the understanding of European cultural heritage.

Danish television documentary wins Assembly-sponsored Prix Europa

24/10/2005 | Prizes

A Danish television documentary about the human consequences of the 2002 mid-air collision over Germany yesterday won one of fourteen Prix Europa trophies at a ceremony in Berlin. The 6000-euro prize, which was donated by the Assembly in the "current affairs" category, was presented by Eddie O’Hara (United Kingdom, SOC) to the makers of the film "Victim No. 72", one of around thirty films submitted in this category. The Prix Europa, which has been supported by the Council of Europe since its creation in 1987, rewards Europe’s best TV, radio and internet productions.

Official ceremony to award 2005 Europe Prize to Kaliningrad

08/07/2005 | Prizes

The Chair of the Council of Europe’s Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) Sub-committee on the Europe Prize Guy Lengagne (France, SOC) and the Mayor of last year’s winner, Oudenaarde, will jointly present the prize to the Mayor of Kaliningrad, on 9 July. There will be a special session of the City Council, attended by the Governor of the Kaliningrad Region, to mark the event, which forms part of the town’s Europe Day celebrations. The event is open to the press. A press conference will be held at 2.30 p.m.

Santiago de Compostela hosted celebration to mark 50 years of the Europe Prize

29/06/2005 | Prizes

The mayors of around 30 European towns gathered in Santiago de Compostela (Spain) from 1 to 3 July to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Europe Prize and the 20th anniversary of the award of the Prize to Santiago de Compostela. The prize, which is awarded each year by PACE, rewards local and regional authorities for their active promotion of the European ideal (twinnings, European events, exchange visits, etc.). Since its creation in 1955, it has been awarded to 61 European municipalities.

2004 Europe Prize presented to town of Oudenaarde

16/09/2004 | Prizes

The 2004 Europe Prize was awarded to Oudenaarde in Belgium during a ceremony in the town today. The prize, created by the Parliamentary Assembly in 1955, is awarded every year to a European town or territorial authority for its active promotion of the European ideal through activities such as twinnings, events or exchange visits.