Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle


Danish television documentary wins Assembly-sponsored Prix Europa

24/10/2005 | Prizes

A Danish television documentary about the human consequences of the 2002 mid-air collision over Germany yesterday won one of fourteen Prix Europa trophies at a ceremony in Berlin. The 6000-euro prize, which was donated by the Assembly in the "current affairs" category, was presented by Eddie O’Hara (United Kingdom, SOC) to the makers of the film "Victim No. 72", one of around thirty films submitted in this category. The Prix Europa, which has been supported by the Council of Europe since its creation in 1987, rewards Europe’s best TV, radio and internet productions.

Official ceremony to award 2005 Europe Prize to Kaliningrad

08/07/2005 | Prizes

The Chair of the Council of Europe’s Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) Sub-committee on the Europe Prize Guy Lengagne (France, SOC) and the Mayor of last year’s winner, Oudenaarde, will jointly present the prize to the Mayor of Kaliningrad, on 9 July. There will be a special session of the City Council, attended by the Governor of the Kaliningrad Region, to mark the event, which forms part of the town’s Europe Day celebrations. The event is open to the press. A press conference will be held at 2.30 p.m.

Santiago de Compostela hosted celebration to mark 50 years of the Europe Prize

29/06/2005 | Prizes

The mayors of around 30 European towns gathered in Santiago de Compostela (Spain) from 1 to 3 July to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Europe Prize and the 20th anniversary of the award of the Prize to Santiago de Compostela. The prize, which is awarded each year by PACE, rewards local and regional authorities for their active promotion of the European ideal (twinnings, European events, exchange visits, etc.). Since its creation in 1955, it has been awarded to 61 European municipalities.

2004 Europe Prize presented to town of Oudenaarde

16/09/2004 | Prizes

The 2004 Europe Prize was awarded to Oudenaarde in Belgium during a ceremony in the town today. The prize, created by the Parliamentary Assembly in 1955, is awarded every year to a European town or territorial authority for its active promotion of the European ideal through activities such as twinnings, events or exchange visits.