Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Altötting to receive 2013 Europe Prize during ceremony

Strasbourg, 11.09.2013 – The Europe Prize is to be presented to the German town of Altötting – joint Prizewinner in 2013 along with the Hungarian town of Tata – at a ceremony in the town on Saturday 14 September.

The Prize will be presented to Altötting’s Mayor Herbert Hofauer by a delegation of parliamentarians, led by the Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), Sir Alan Meale (United Kingdom, SOC).

Emilia Müller, State Secretary for European Affairs of the Land of Bavaria, will also attend the ceremony.

This annual prize honours towns and cities for their active promotion of the European ideal, such as twinnings, European events and exchange visits. It consists of a trophy, a medal, a diploma and a scholarship to be spent on a study visit within Europe for young people from the winning town.