Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Speeches made by Mr Rik Daems during his mandate as President of the Assembly

2021

Thursday, 2 December, on-line
Welcoming words delivered at 10th Anniversary of the MEDICRIME Convention

Tuesday, 23 November, Rome
Speech delivered at La Sapienza University, Rome, on "Artificial intelligence and public functions"

Monday, 22 November, Rome
Speech delivered at the Italian Chamber of Deputies on "The Istanbul Convention – ten years on"

Monday, 8 November, on-line
Welcoming Speech delivered at the World Forum for Democracy

Sunday, 7 November, Glasgow
Speech delivered at the Parliamentary Meeting at the 26th United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP26)

Wednesday, 27 October, United Nations
Speech delivered at the United Nations on "The right to a clean, safe, healthy and sustainable environment: a common cause of the Council of Europe and the United Nations"

Tuesday, 26 October, on-line
Speech delivered at the International Conference "Current and Future Challenges of Coordinated Policies on Artificial Intelligence Regulation" Co-organised by the Hungarian Presidency of the Committee of Ministers and the Council of Europe

Monday, 18 October, on-line
Speech delivered on the 60th anniversary of the European Social Charter

Thursday, 30 September, Strasbourg
Speech on the occasion of the presentation of the European Diplomas

Wednesday, 29 September, on-line
Speech delivered for the Athens Democracy: Climate Hub Panel

Monday, 27 September, Strasbourg
Speech at the Pink October Event: Breast Cancer Care in Pandemic Times
Opening remarks – 2021 Fourth part-Session

Tuesday, 13 July, Rabat, Maroc
Women in politics: how to move towards equality? (french only)

Monday, 5 July, video
Webinar on the impact of Covid-19 on media freedom

Friday, 2 July, Strasbourg
HELP 2021 annual conference on “Human Rights responses to global challenges” – Topical special event: Environment and Human Rights: Welcoming remarks by Rik Daems

Monday, 21 June, Strasbourg
Opening remarks – 2021 third part-Session

Wednesday, 16 June, Doha, Qatar
United Nations Office of Counter-Terrorism (UNOCT) – Parliamentary Engagement in Preventing and Countering Terrorism

Friday, 11 juin, teleconference
Conference of Ministers responsible for Media and Information Society (anglais uniquement)

Wednesday, 19 May, St Petersburg
St Petersburg International Legal Forum on “Vaccination by Law”

Tuesday, 11 May, on-line
Gender Equality and the Istanbul Convention: a decade of action

Friday, 7 May, video
Webinar on Covid-19 impact on media freedom

Monday, 19 April, Strasbourg
Opening remarks – 2021 second part-Session

Thursday, 15 April, St. Petersburg
International conference “Global challenges and threats in the context of the Covid-19 pandemic: Terrorism and violent Extremism

Monday, 8 mars, video
Men and women need to push together more forcefully

Wednesday, 27 January, Strasbourg
International Day of Commemoration of the victims of the Holocaust 27 January 2021

Monday, 25 January, Strasbourg
Opening remarks – 2021 first part-Session (French then English)

Wednesday, 20 January, video
Transcript of a video message during the Conference on Human Rights in the Era of AI – Europe as international Standard Setter for Artificial Intelligence