Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Václav Havel Human Rights Prize 2021: call for nominations

Václav Havel Human Rights Price
©Council of Europe

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), in partnership with the Václav Havel Library and the Charta 77 Foundation, has today issued a call for nominations for the 2021 Václav Havel Human Rights Prize.

The Prize, created in 2013, aims to reward outstanding civil society action in defending human rights in Europe and beyond. Candidates should have made a real difference to the human rights situation of a given group, been instrumental in uncovering large-scale systemic violations, or have successfully mobilised public opinion or the international community for a cause.

The deadline for submitting nominations is 30 April 2021.

Nominations should be sent to the Parliamentary Assembly by e-mail to the following address: [email protected], using the form available on the Prize website. They should be signed by at least five sponsors and submitted in either English or French.

The Prize, which will be awarded in September 2021 in Strasbourg, consists of a sum of €60,000, a trophy and a diploma.

Since 2013, it was awarded successively to Ales Bialiatski (Belarus), Anar Mammadli (Azerbaijan), Ludmilla Alexeeva (Russian Federation), Nadia Murad (Iraq), Murat Arslan (Turkey), Oyub Titiev (Russian Federation) and jointly to Ilham Tohti (China) and the Youth Initiative for Human Rights (YIHR).

Vaclav Havel Human Rights Prize

For further information, please contact:

- PACE: Isild Heurtin, tel. +33 3 90 21 41 00, [email protected]
- Václav Havel Library: Karolína Stránská, tel. +420 222 220 112, [email protected]
- Charta 77 Foundation: Gabriela Švagrová, tel. +420 224 214 452, [email protected]