Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

The desecration of the Jewish cemetery in Strasbourg-Cronenbourg

Written declaration No. 438 | Doc. 12152 | 28 January 2010

Mr Lluís Maria de PUIG i OLIVE, Spain, SOC ; Mr Pedro AGRAMUNT, Spain, EPP/CD ; Lord Donald ANDERSON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr John AUSTIN, United Kingdom ; Ms Meritxell BATET, Spain, SOC ; Ms Delia BLANCO, Spain, SOC ; Mr Agustín CONDE, Spain, EPP/CD ; Mr Arcadio DÍAZ TEJERA, Spain, SOC ; Mr Andreas GROSS, Switzerland, SOC ; Mr Norbert HAUPERT, Luxembourg, EPP/CD ; Ms Krista KIURU, Finland, SOC ; Mr Göran LINDBLAD, Sweden, EPP/CD ; Mr Dick MARTY, Switzerland, ALDE ; Ms Maria Manuela de MELO, Portugal, SOC ; Mr José MENDES BOTA, Portugal, EPP/CD ; Mr Pasquale NESSA, Italy, EPP/CD ; Mr Gabino PUCHE, Spain, EPP/CD ; Ms Carmen QUINTANILLA, Spain, EPP/CD ; Mr Björn von SYDOW, Sweden, SOC ; Lord John E. TOMLINSON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Luigi VITALI, Italy, EPP/CD ; Mr Jordi XUCLÀ, Spain, ALDE

The undersigned declare:

1. On the day after the anniversary of the liberation of the Auschwitz concentration camps, we note with alarm the wholesale desecration of the Jewish cemetery of Strasbourg-Cronenbourg and smashing of gravestones.
2. We call, as a matter of great urgency, on the governments of the member States of the Council of Europe, parliamentarians and all democratic forces of civilised countries to mobilise in taking the firmest action to put an end to such acts, which are contrary to all the democratic principles enshrined in the European Convention of Human Rights.
3. We invite the Committee of Ministers and the Parliamentary Assembly to take action accordingly at all appropriate levels.