Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Functioning of democratic institutions in "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

Motion for a resolution | Doc. 13129 | 01 February 2013

Mr Andreas GROSS, Switzerland, SOC ; Lord Donald ANDERSON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Mörður ÁRNASON, Iceland, SOC ; Mr Joe BENTON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Ms Anne BRASSEUR, Luxembourg, ALDE ; Mr André BUGNON, Switzerland, ALDE ; Ms Lolita ČIGĀNE, Latvia, EPP/CD ; Mr Jean-Charles GARDETTO, Monaco, EPP/CD ; Mr Mogens JENSEN, Denmark, SOC ; Mr Ferenc KALMÁR, Hungary, EPP/CD ; Mr Haluk KOÇ, Turkey, SOC ; Mr Tiny KOX, Netherlands, UEL ; Ms Vesna MARJANOVIĆ, Serbia, SOC ; Mr Jean-Pierre MICHEL, France, SOC ; Ms Marietta de POURBAIX-LUNDIN, Sweden, EPP/CD ; Mr Stefan SCHENNACH, Austria, SOC ; Ms Marina SCHUSTER, Germany, ALDE ; Mr Yanaki STOILOV, Bulgaria, SOC ; Mr Björn von SYDOW, Sweden, SOC ; Lord John E. TOMLINSON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Egidijus VAREIKIS, Lithuania, EPP/CD

Police locking 42 MPs out of parliament during a vote, as happened in Skopje on 24th December 2012, is a clear expression of deep problems with democracy in general, and with parliamentary democracy in particular, in that country.

The Parliamentary Assembly is invited to look more closely into why this occurred, what it reveals about problems with democracy, why tension and conflict could not be resolved in a democratic way, and what can be done to overcome these problems in order to repair and strengthen democracy in “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia”.