Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Protection of media freedom in Europe

Motion for a resolution | Doc. 13124 | 30 January 2013

Mr Mats JOHANSSON, Sweden, EPP/CD ; Ms Tina ACKETOFT, Sweden, ALDE ; Lord Donald ANDERSON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Volodymyr ARIEV, Ukraine, NR ; Ms Gülsün BİLGEHAN, Turkey, SOC ; Mr Michael CONNARTY, United Kingdom, SOC ; Ms Ismeta DERVOZ, Bosnia and Herzegovina, EPP/CD ; Baroness Diana ECCLES, United Kingdom, EDG ; Mr Gvozden Srećko FLEGO, Croatia, SOC ; Ms Corina FUSU, Republic of Moldova, ALDE ; Sir Roger GALE, United Kingdom, EDG ; Ms Sylvi GRAHAM, Norway, EPP/CD ; Mr Jonas GUNNARSSON, Sweden, SOC ; Mr Mogens JENSEN, Denmark, SOC ; Mr Rom KOSTŘICA, Czech Republic, EPP/CD ; Ms Elvira KOVÁCS, Serbia, EPP/CD ; Ms Vesna MARJANOVIĆ, Serbia, SOC ; Ms Carina OHLSSON, Sweden, SOC ; Mr Björn von SYDOW, Sweden, SOC ; Mr Piotr WACH, Poland, EPP/CD

Freedom of expression through the media and the safety of journalists continue to be threatened by improper legislation and administrative practices in several member States of the Council of Europe, thus challenging democracy and human rights. The Parliamentary Assembly must remain vigilant on this issue and spur proper responses by the national authorities.

The Assembly deplores in particular that impunity for attacks on journalists exists de facto, that journalists are imprisoned because of their work, and that public service broadcasters lack independence from government.

The Assembly should seek to co-operate more closely with member States and with professional associations of journalists and media associations, in order to highlight problems and encourage constructive discussions and the adoption of concrete measures to promote media freedom in Europe effectively.