Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Support Human Rights in Iran and security for Camp Liberty

Written declaration No. 571 | Doc. 13478 | 15 July 2014

Mr Joseph FENECH ADAMI, Malta, EPP/CD ; Mr Paride ANDREOLI, San Marino, SOC ; Mr Volodymyr ARIEV, Ukraine, EPP/CD ; Mr Joe BENTON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Ms Maria Teresa BERTUZZI, Italy, SOC ; Mr Brian BINLEY, United Kingdom, EDG ; Mr Charlò BONNICI, Malta, EPP/CD ; Mr André BUGNON, Switzerland, ALDE ; Ms Natalia BURYKINA, Russian Federation, NR ; Ms Nunzia CATALFO, Italy, NR ; Mr Igor CHERNYSHENKO, Russian Federation, NR ; Mr Paolo CORSINI, Italy, SOC ; Mr David CRAUSBY, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Jonny CROSIO, Italy, NR ; Mr Yves CRUCHTEN, Luxembourg, SOC ; Mr Geraint DAVIES, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Manlio DI STEFANO, Italy, NR ; Mr Jim DOBBIN, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Tuur ELZINGA, Netherlands, UEL ; Mr Bernd FABRITIUS, Germany, EPP/CD ; Mr Bernard FOURNIER, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Hans FRANKEN, Netherlands, EPP/CD ; Mr Martin FRONC, Slovak Republic, EPP/CD ; Ms Darina GABÁNIOVÁ, Slovak Republic, SOC ; Ms Adele GAMBARO, Italy, ALDE ; Mr Valeriu GHILETCHI, Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD ; Mr Gerardo GIOVAGNOLI, San Marino, SOC ; Mr Francesco Maria GIRO, Italy, EPP/CD ; Mr Hans Fredrik GRØVAN, Norway, EPP/CD ; Ms Dzhema GROZDANOVA, Bulgaria, EPP/CD ; Ms Ana GUŢU, Republic of Moldova, ALDE ; Mr Hamid HAMID, Bulgaria, ALDE ; Mr Margus HANSON, Estonia, ALDE ; Mr Alfred HEER, Switzerland, ALDE ; Ms Françoise HETTO-GAASCH, Luxembourg, EPP/CD ; Mr Jim HOOD, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Gediminas JAKAVONIS, Lithuania, ALDE ; Mr Gordan JANDROKOVIĆ, Croatia, EPP/CD ; Mr Ögmundur JÓNASSON, Iceland, UEL ; Mr Algis KAŠĖTA, Lithuania, ALDE ; Sir Edward LEIGH, United Kingdom, EDG ; Ms Guguli MAGRADZE, Georgia, SOC ; Sir Alan MEALE, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Igor MOROZOV, Russian Federation, NR ; Mr Arkadiusz MULARCZYK, Poland, EDG ; Mr Robert NEILL, United Kingdom, EDG ; Mr Brynjar NÍELSSON, Iceland, EDG ; Ms Elena NIKOLAEVA, Russian Federation, NR ; Ms Liliana PALIHOVICI, Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD ; Mr Bernard PASQUIER, Monaco, ALDE ; Mr Stanislav POLČÁK, Czech Republic, EPP/CD ; Ms Eva RICHTROVÁ, Czech Republic, SOC ; Mr Alexander ROMANOVICH, Russian Federation, SOC ; Ms Fatiha SAÏDI, Belgium, SOC ; Mr Aleksandrs SAKOVSKIS, Latvia, SOC ; Ms Milena SANTERINI, Italy, NR ; Mr Kimmo SASI, Finland, EPP/CD ; Mr Andreas SCHIEDER, Austria, SOC ; Ms Laura SEARA, Spain, SOC ; Mr Jim SHERIDAN, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Oleksandr SHEVCHENKO, Ukraine, NR ; Ms Maria Edera SPADONI, Italy, NR ; Ms Lorella STEFANELLI, San Marino, EPP/CD ; Ms Chiora TAKTAKISHVILI, Georgia, ALDE ; Ms Ester TUIKSOO, Estonia, ALDE ; Ms Nycole TURMEL, Canada ; Mr Volker ULLRICH, Germany, EPP/CD ; Mr Snorre Serigstad VALEN, Norway, UEL ; Mr Nikolaj VILLUMSEN, Denmark, UEL ; Mr Morten WOLD, Norway, EDG ; Mr Emanuelis ZINGERIS, Lithuania, EPP/CD

Parallel to suppression at home, through the Iraqi government, the Iranian regime has been severely suppressing the 3000 Iranian refugees in Camp Liberty, Iraq. To date, 116 have been massacred, 7 (including 6 women) taken hostage, 18 died in a medical siege and 1300 injured in attacks by Iraqi forces.

Systematic human rights violations continue unabated in Iran. Since Rouhani was elected, more than 700 people have been executed, 200 in the first three months of 2014. Clearly, there has been no change in Iran under Rouhani.

Furthermore, the Iranian regime continues its warmongering and export of terrorism to Syria, Iraq and Lebanon and continues its secret nuclear weapons programme.

We the undersigned believe:

1. Iran’s dossier of human rights violations particularly the massacre of 30,000 political prisoners in 1988 and the 1 September 2013 massacre at Camp Ashraf should be referred to the United Nations Security Council and ICC.
2. The Iraqi government must release 7 hostages taken from Ashraf and UN Blue Helmets must guarantee residents’ security at Liberty 24/7 until the residents leave Iraq. We urge the immediate transfer of Liberty residents to the United States and European Union countries.