Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Committee of Ministers: guidelines for civil participation in political decision making

Written declaration No. 634 | Doc. 14369 | 28 June 2017

Alexander [The Earl of] DUNDEE, United Kingdom, EC ; Lord Donald ANDERSON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Vilhjálmur ÁRNASON, Iceland, EC ; Lord David BLENCATHRA, United Kingdom, EC ; Mr Krasimir BOGDANOV, Bulgaria, EC ; Ms Christiana EROTOKRITOU, Cyprus, SOC ; Lord George FOULKES, United Kingdom, SOC ; Ms Ingebjørg GODSKESEN, Norway, EC ; Mr Serhii KIRAL, Ukraine, EC ; Mr Florian KRONBICHLER, Italy, SOC ; Sir Alan MEALE, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Mikayel MELKUMYAN, Armenia, EC ; Mr Orhan MİROĞLU, Turkey, EC ; Ms Hermine NAGHDALYAN, Armenia, EC ; Mr Jarosław OBREMSKI, Poland, EC ; Ms Tineke STRIK, Netherlands, SOC ; Ms Petra De SUTTER, Belgium, SOC ; Lord David WILSON, United Kingdom, NR ; Mr Morten WOLD, Norway, EC ; Ms Naira ZOHRABYAN, Armenia, EC

To help guarantee democratic security and ensure the proper functioning of democratic society across Europe, the undersigned members of the Parliamentary Assembly urge member States to continue to promote transparency, accountability and civil participation at all levels of government – national, regional and local.

Therefore, we call on the Committee of Ministers to adopt and publish as soon as practicable the guidelines for civil participation in political decision making referred to on page 77 of the Secretary General’s report “State of democracy, human rights and the rule of law 2017”.