Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

Progress report | Doc. 15263 Add. 2 | 14 April 2021

Bureau of the Assembly

1 Report of the Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

The Committee held a hybrid meeting in Paris on 9 April 2021 with Mr Volker Ullrich (Germany, EPP/CD), in the Chair.

2 Introduction

The Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights assessed the lists of the candidates to the Court in respect of Belgium and Poland.Note

3 Conclusions of the Committee on the lists of candidates submitted by Belgium and Poland


The Committee interviewed all the candidates on 9 April 2021.

The Committee recommends to the Assembly, by a majority, Mr Frédéric Krenc, as the most qualified candidate, over Ms Maïté De Rue.


The Committee recommends to the Assembly to reject the list in view of the national selection procedure not being in line with the standards required by the Assembly and the Committee of Ministers and to request the Government of Poland to submit a new list of candidates.

Appendix 1 – Lists of candidates submitted by the Governments of Belgium and Poland


  • Ms Maïté DE RUE
  • Mr Frédéric KRENC
  • Ms Sylvie SAROLEA


  • Ms Elzbieta KARSKA
  • Mr Aleksander STĘPKOWSKI
  • Ms Agnieszka SZKLANNA

Appendix 2 – Members of the Committee who participated in the meetingNote

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

  • Mr Jason AZZOPARDI, Malta
  • Ms Inese LĪBIŅA-EGNERE, Latvia
  • Mr Aleksander POCIEJ, Poland
  • Mr Evripidis STYLIANIDIS, Greece
  • Mr Attila TILKI, Hungary
  • Mr Volker ULLRICH, Chairperson, Germany
  • Mr Vladimir VARDANYAN, Armenia
  • Mr Sergiy VLASENKO, Ukraine

Socialists, Democrats and Greens Group (SOC)

  • Ms Margreet De BOER, Netherlands
  • Ms Klotilda BUSHKA, Albania
  • Mr Titus CORLĂŢEAN, 2nd Vice-Chairperson, Romania
  • Mr Constantinos EFSTATHIOU, Cyprus
  • Mr Andrej SZEJNA, Poland
  • Mr André VALLINI, France

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

  • Ms Stephanie KRISPER, Austria
  • Mr Edmon MARUKYAN, Armenia
  • Ms Emilie Enger MEHL, Norway

European Conservatives Group and Democratic Alliance (EC/DA)

  • Mr Serhii KALCHENKO, Ukraine
  • Mr Morten MESSERSCHMIDT, Denmark
  • Mr Arkadiusz MULARCZYK, Poland

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

  • Mr Georgios KATROUGKALOS, Greece

Ex Officio

  • Ms Petra BAYR, Chairperson of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination, Austria
  • Mr Boriss CILEVIČS, Chairperson of the Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights, Latvia

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

  • Ms Despina CHATZIVASSILIOU-TSOVILIS, Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly
  • Mr Günter SCHIRMER, Head of the Secretariat