Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Election of judges to the European Court of Human Rights

Progress report | Doc. 15318 Add. 3 | 16 June 2021

Bureau of the Assembly

1 Report of the Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

The Committee held a meeting in a hybrid manner in Paris on 11 June 2021, afternoon sitting (from 2 pm to 4 pm) with Mr Volker Ullrich (Germany, EPP/CD), in the Chair.

2 Introduction

The Committee assessed the list of the candidates to the Court in respect of the Russian Federation.Note

3 Conclusions of the Committee on the list of candidates submitted by the Russian Federation

The Committee recommends to the Assembly, by a narrow majority, not to approve the list on procedural grounds in view of the fact that some questions on the selection commission were not answered during the meeting.

Appendix 1 – List of candidates submitted by the Government of the Russian Federation

  • Mr Andrei Yurievich BUSHEV
  • Mr Mikhail Borisovich LOBOV
  • Ms Natalia Vladimirovna PAVLOVA

Appendix 2 – Members of the Committee who participated in the meeting

Socialists, Democrats and Greens Group (SOC)

  • Ms Thorhildur Sunna ÆVARSDÓTTIR, Iceland
  • Ms Margreet De BOER, Netherlands
  • Ms Klotilda BUSHKA, Albania
  • Mr Titus CORLĂŢEAN, 2nd Vice-Chairperson, Romania
  • Mr Constantinos EFSTATHIOU, Cyprus
  • Mr Andrej SZEJNA, Poland

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

  • Ms Andrea EDER-GITSCHTHALER, Austria
  • Ms Biljana PANTIĆ PILJA, Serbia
  • Mr Aleksander POCIEJ, Poland
  • Mr Volker ULLRICH, Chairperson, Germany
  • Mr Vladimir VARDANYAN, Armenia
  • Mr Sergiy VLASENKO, Ukraine

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

  • Mr Fabien GOUTTEFARDE, France
  • Ms Stephanie KRISPER, Austria
  • Ms Emilie Enger MEHL, Norway

European Conservatives Group and Democratic Alliance (EC/DA)

  • Mr Christopher CHOPE, United Kingdom
  • Mr Serhii KALCHENKO, Ukraine

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

  • Mr George KATROUGALOS, Greece

Ex Officio

  • Ms Petra BAYR, Chairperson of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination, Austria
  • Mr Boriss CILEVIČS, Chairperson of the Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights, Latvia

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

  • Ms Despina CHATZIVASSILIOU-TSOVILIS, Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly
  • Mr Günter SCHIRMER, Head of the Secretariat