Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Equality Committee appoints three new General rapporteurs

The Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination appointed three new General Rapporteurs during its meeting on 21 April 2015 in Strasbourg.

Sahiba Gafarova (Azerbaijan, EC) has been appointed General Rapporteur on violence against women and Political coordinator of the Parliamentary Network Women Free from Violence. Ms Gafarova is a former Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Gender Equality.

Jonas Gunnarsson (Sweden, SOC) is the new General Rapporteur on the rights of LGBT people. Second Vice-Chairperson of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination, he is also Chairperson of the Swedish delegation to PACE.

Milena Santerini (Italy, SOC) has been appointed General Rapporteur on combating racism and intolerance. She is currently rapporteur on “Recognising and preventing neo-racism”.

Committees may appoint general rapporteurs to cover a particular field or topic, in order to promote the Assembly's decisions thereon.