Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

60th anniversary of the Europe Prize – a tribute to the 75 winning towns

On 22 June, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) will celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Europe Prize in Strasbourg during its summer session, by bringing together mayors from the towns which have been awarded the Prize since it was created in 1955.

The Europe Prize is a way of rewarding towns for their efforts to promote Europe through twinnings, membership of European or international organisations of local authorities and ongoing contacts with municipalities in other countries, between universities, chambers of commerce, trade bodies, cultural associations and sports clubs, or by organising European events or youth exchanges. More generally, the Prize helps to propagate the European idea in municipal adult education institutes and schools or promote European initiatives to help towns in other countries which have been hit by natural disasters.

In all, 2324 towns have been recognised to date for their efforts to promote European values at local level via one or other of the awards that make up the Europe Prize (the European Diploma, the Flag of Honour, the Plaque of Honour). All three must be won before a town can apply for the highest distinction, the Europe Prize.

Follow the Europe Prize on Facebook