Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Europe Prize ceremony in Vara

On 29 November 2015, Vara (Sweden) received the Europe Prize Trophy during an official ceremony organised in its town. Axel E. Fischer (Germany, EPP/CD), Chairperson of the PACE Sub-Committee of the Europe Prize and Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), Vice-Chairperson of the sub-committee, presented the Trophy to Fredrik Nelander, Mayor of Vara, in the presence of local authorities, associations and population, as well as the representatives of Vara’s twinned towns.

The following day, Axel E. Fischer also presented honorary Diplomas to several schools in Vara to thank them for their European commitment and to encourage them to continue on this path. 

The Europe Prize Ceremony was held as part of the Santa Lucia Coronation, a Swedish Advent tradition. Vara and Dresden (Germany) were both awarded the Europe Prize in 2015.