Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Václav Havel Prize 2019: nominations close today!

The deadline for submission of nominations for the 2019 Václav Havel Prize is 30 April. The Prize aims to reward "outstanding civil society action in defending human rights in Europe and beyond".

Candidates should have made a difference to the human rights situation of a given group, been instrumental in uncovering systemic violations on a large scale or have mobilised public opinion or the international community for a given cause.

The Prize, consisting of a sum of €60,000, a trophy and a diploma, is awarded annually by the Parliamentary Assembly, in partnership with the Václav Havel Library and the Charta 77 Foundation. It will be awarded on 30 September in Strasbourg.

Nominations should be sent to the Parliamentary Assembly by e-mail to: [email protected], using the form available on the Prize website. They should be signed by at least five sponsors and submitted in either English or French.

Since 2013, the Prize has been awarded successively to Ales Bialiatski (Belarus), Anar Mammadli (Azerbaijan), Ludmilla Alexeeva (Russian Federation), Nadia Murad (Iraq) and Murat Arslan (Turkey).

Last year's winner was Oyub Titiev (Russian Federation), head of the Grozny office of the Memorial Human Rights Center in Chechnya.