Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

European Diplomas of the Council of Europe: 8 municipalities rewarded in 2019

Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC), Chairperson of the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development, and Mr Kęstutis MASIULIS (Lithuania, EPP/CD), Vice-Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) presented today the 2019 European Diploma to the mayors of 8 prize-winning municipalities, at a ceremony at Council of Europe headquarters in Strasbourg.

The prize-winners are:
Germany Baienfurt (Baden-Württemberg)
Malchin (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern)
Neustadt bei Coburg (Bavaria)
Umkirch (Baden-Württemberg)

Italy Este (Veneto)
Norma (Lazio)
Ventotene (Lazio)

Spain Mollet del Vallès (Catalonia)

The European Diploma not only acknowledges the work done at European level by the prize-winning municipalities, but also serves as an incentive to develop this work further through contacts with twin towns and other European partners.

The European Diploma was first presented by the Parliamentary Assembly in 1988. The winning municipalities may then also be awarded the Flag of Honour, the Plaque of Honour and, finally, the Europe Prize, the highest honour (awarded in 2019 to Donostia/San Sebastián in Spain).