Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Committee reviews progress of States under monitoring in 2019

The Monitoring Committee has adopted today the report by Sir Roger Gale (United Kingdom, EC/DA), which takes stock of its activities from January to December 2019 and makes a series of assessments of the progress of the countries subject to a monitoring procedure or engaged in post-monitoring dialogue.

The adopted text underlines that there are ten countries under a full monitoring procedure (Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova, the Russian Federation, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine), and three countries engaged in a post-monitoring dialogue (Bulgaria, Montenegro and North Macedonia).

The committee welcomed the positive developments and the progress made during this period or expressed concern about remaining shortcomings in a number of countries “that undermine their democratic consolidation”, as well as making specific recommendations to the countries concerned.

In addition, the committee recommended amendments to its terms of reference. It proposed to prepare regular periodic reviews on all Council of Europe member States, that are not under a full monitoring procedure or engaged in a post-monitoring dialogue. The committee would decide on the order and frequency of these reports in accordance with its internal working methods.

The committee also recommended that, when elaborating the reports, the authorities of the country concerned should be given a six-week period to provide their comments on the draft report, and that, as regards the appointment of rapporteurs, these should come from different countries and political groups.