Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

For a strong and united Europe, for the future of Europe

Written declaration No. 471 | Doc. 12509 | 27 January 2011

Mr Konstantinos VRETTOS, Greece, SOC ; Mr Pedro AGRAMUNT, Spain, EPP/CD ; Ms Lenka ANDRÝSOVÁ, Czech Republic, ALDE ; Mr Alexandros ATHANASIADIS, Greece, SOC ; Mr Viorel Riceard BADEA, Romania, EPP/CD ; Mr Denis BADRÉ, France, ALDE ; Ms Doris BARNETT, Germany, SOC ; Mr Fernand BODEN, Luxembourg, EPP/CD ; Ms Anne BRASSEUR, Luxembourg, ALDE ; Mr Márton BRAUN, Hungary, EPP/CD ; Mr Georges CHARALAMBOPOULOS, Greece, SOC ; Mr Vannino CHITI, Italy, SOC ; Mr Boriss CILEVIČS, Latvia, SOC ; Ms Ingrida CIRCENE, Latvia, EPP/CD ; Mr Titus CORLĂŢEAN, Romania, SOC ; Mr Telmo CORREIA, Portugal, EDG ; Mr Joseph DEBONO GRECH, Malta, SOC ; Mr Nikolaos DENDIAS, Greece, EPP/CD ; Mr Jim DOBBIN, United Kingdom, SOC ; Ms Josette DURRIEU, France, SOC ; Mr György FRUNDA, Romania, EPP/CD ; Mr Jean-Charles GARDETTO, Monaco, EPP/CD ; Mr Paolo GIARETTA, Italy, ALDE ; Mr Andreas GROSS, Switzerland, SOC ; Mr Norbert HAUPERT, Luxembourg, EPP/CD ; Mr Andres HERKEL, Estonia, EPP/CD ; Ms Sinikka HURSKAINEN, Finland, SOC ; Mr Jean HUSS, Luxembourg, SOC ; Mr Tadeusz IWIŃSKI, Poland, SOC ; Mr Michail KATRINIS, Greece, SOC ; Ms Charoula KEFALIDOU, Greece, SOC ; Mr Haluk KOÇ, Turkey, SOC ; Mr Albrecht KONEČNÝ, Austria, SOC ; Mr Aleksei LOTMAN, Estonia, UEL ; Mr Philippe MAHOUX, Belgium, SOC ; Mr Pietro MARCENARO, Italy, SOC ; Ms Christine MARIN, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Bernard MARQUET, Monaco, ALDE ; Sir Alan MEALE, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Evangelos MEIMARAKIS, Greece, EPP/CD ; Ms Ana Catarina MENDES, Portugal, SOC ; Mr José MENDES BOTA, Portugal, EPP/CD ; Mr Patrick MORIAU, Belgium, SOC ; Mr João Bosco MOTA AMARAL, Portugal, EPP/CD ; Mr Adrian NĂSTASE, Romania, SOC ; Mr Tudor PANŢIRU, Romania, SOC ; Ms Elsa PAPADIMITRIOU, Greece, EPP/CD ; Mr Dimitrios PAPADIMOULIS, Greece, UEL ; Mr Christos POURGOURIDES, Cyprus, EPP/CD ; Mr Cezar Florin PREDA, Romania, EPP/CD ; Mr John PRESCOTT, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Lluís Maria de PUIG i OLIVE, Spain, SOC ; Ms Maria de Belém ROSEIRA, Portugal, SOC ; Mr Kimmo SASI, Finland, EPP/CD ; Mr Jim SHERIDAN, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Sérgio SOUSA PINTO, Portugal, SOC ; Ms Melinda SZÉKYNÉ SZTRÉMI, Hungary, EPP/CD ; Lord John E. TOMLINSON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Latchezar TOSHEV, Bulgaria, EPP/CD ; Mr Egidijus VAREIKIS, Lithuania, EPP/CD ; Mr José VERA JARDIM, Portugal, SOC ; Mr Luca VOLONTÈ, Italy, EPP/CD ; Mr Emanuelis ZINGERIS, Lithuania, EPP/CD

We welcome the recent initiatives, put forward by European personalities, European parties, trade unions, think tanks and civil society organisations, which once again bring to the forefront the proposal for a reliable economic governance of the European Union and the issuance of euro-bonds.

We believe that, in the framework of this new architecture, euro-bonds can play a key role in surmounting the debt crisis, ensuring the stability of the Euro, and financing the growth of the European economy.

What we ask for is:

  • to create an effective shield for the protection of the euro and the euro area countries as a whole
  • to ensure equal lending terms for the debt level, creating, thus, strong disincentives for Member States to avoid exceeding these thresholds;
  • to boost significantly growth and employment for all European countries;
  • to take a decisive step towards economic and political integration and to restore the trust of European citizens in the future of the euro area and of Europe as a whole;
  • To win the fast moving markets, keeping in mind the “time” coefficient that dictates immediate action.