Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

Progress report | Doc. 14529 Add. 2 | 18 April 2018

Bureau of the Assembly

1 Report of the Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

The Committee held a meeting in Paris on 12 April 2018 with Lord Donald Anderson (United Kingdom, SOC), 2nd Vice-Chairperson, then Mr Valeriu Ghiletchi (Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD), in the Chair.

2 Introduction

The Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights assessed the lists of the candidates to the Court in respect of Montenegro and Turkey.Note

3 Conclusions of the Committee on the lists of candidates submitted by Montenegro and Turkey


The Committee interviewed all the candidates on 12 April 2018.

The Committee recommends to the Assembly, by a majority, Ms Ivana Jelić as the most qualified candidate, over Ms Mirjana Popović.


The Committee decided to postpone the consideration of this list to a later meeting.

Appendix 1 – Lists of candidates submitted by the Governments of Montenegro and Turkey


  • Ms Ivana JELIĆ
  • Ms Mirjana POPOVIĆ
  • Mr Boris SAVIĆ


  • Mr Selami KURAN
  • Mr Necati POLAT

Appendix 2 – Members of the Committee who participated in the meeting

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

  • Mr Valeriu GHILETCHI, Republic of Moldova, Chairperson
  • Mr Vladyslav GOLUB, Ukraine
  • Mr Sergiy VLASENKO, Ukraine

Socialists, Democrats and Greens Group (SOC)

  • Lord Donald ANDERSON, United Kingdom, 2nd Vice-Chairperson
  • Ms Petra BAYR, Austria
  • Ms Eka BESELIA, Georgia
  • Mr Boriss CILEVIČS, Latvia
  • Mr Constantinos EFSTATHIOU, Cyprus
  • Mr Evangelos VENIZELOS, Greece

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

  • Ms Anne BRASSEUR, Luxembourg
  • Ms Olena SOTNYK, Ukraine

European Conservatives Group (EC)

  • Mr Kostiantyn USOV, Ukraine
  • Ms Serap YAŞAR, Turkey

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

  • Mr Tiny KOX, Netherlands

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

  • Mr Wojciech SAWICKI, Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly
  • Mr Günter SCHIRMER, Head of the Secretariat