Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

Progress report | Doc. 15503 Add. 2 | 20 April 2022

Bureau of the Assembly

1 Report of the Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

The Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights held a meeting in a hybrid manner on 14 April 2022, with Mr Titus Corlăţean (Romania, Socialists, Democrats and Greens Group) in the Chair.

It assessed the list of the candidates to the Court in respect of Ukraine.Note

2 Conclusions of the committee on the list of candidates submitted by Ukraine

The committee interviewed all the candidates on 14 April 2022.

The committee recommends to the Assembly, by a very large majority, Mr Mykola GNATOVSKYY as the most qualified candidate.

Appendix 1 – List of candidates submitted by the Government of Ukraine

  • Ms Tetyana ANTSUPOVA
  • Mr Mykola GNATOVSKYY
  • Mr Oleksandr VODIANNIKOV

Appendix 2 – Members of the committee who participated in the meetingNote

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

  • Mr Jason AZZOPARDI, Malta
  • Mr Corneliu Mugurel COZMANCIUC, Romania
  • Ms Inese LĪBIŅA-EGNERE, Latvia
  • Mr Aleksander POCIEJ, Poland
  • Mr Volker ULLRICH, Germany
  • Mr Vladimir VARDANYAN, Armenia – Third Vice Chairperson
  • Mr Sergiy VLASENKO, Ukraine – First Vice Chairperson

Socialists, Democrats and Greens Group (SOC)

  • Ms Petra BAYR, Austria
  • Ms Arta BILALLI ZENDELI, North Macedonia
  • Ms Margreet De BOER, Netherlands
  • Ms Klotilda BUSHKA, Albania
  • Mr Boriss CILEVIČS, Latvia
  • Mr Titus CORLĂŢEAN, Romania – Chairperson
  • Mr Constantinos EFSTATHIOU, Cyprus

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

  • Ms Stephanie KRISPER, Austria – Second Vice Chairperson
  • Ms Lesia VASYLENKO, Ukraine

European Conservatives Group & Democratic Alliance (EC/DA)

  • Lord David BLENCATHRA, United Kingdom
  • Mr Serghii KALCHENKO, Ukraine
  • Mr Arkadiusz MULARCZYK, Poland

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

  • Mr Georgios KATROUGALOS, Greece

Ex Officio

  • Mr Damien COTTIER, Chairperson of the Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights, Switzerland, ALDE
  • Ms Annicka ENGBLOM, Chairperson of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination, Sweden, EPP/CD

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

  • Ms Despina CHATZIVASSILIOU-TSOVILIS, Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly
  • Mr Mark NEVILLE, Director of Committees – Democracy and Rule of Law
  • Mr Günter SCHIRMER, Head of the Secretariat