Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

Progress report | Doc. 15550 Add. 2 | 15 June 2022

Bureau of the Assembly

1 Report of the Committee on the election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

The Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights held a joint meeting (in person) with the Advisory Panel of Experts on Candidates for Election as Judge to the European Court of Human rights on 7 June 2022 in the morning, with Mr Sergiy Vlasenko (Ukraine, EPP/CD) then with Mr Titus Corlăţean (Romania, SOC) in the chair.

The committee then assessed the list of candidates to the Court in respect of Iceland.Note

2 Conclusions of the Committee on the list of candidates submitted by Iceland

The committee interviewed all the candidates on 7 June 2022 (afternoon).

The committee decided to postpone until a later date its decision on the recommendation to the Assembly concerning this list.

Appendix 1 – List of candidates submitted by the Government of Iceland


  • Ms Oddný Mjöll ARNADOTTIR
  • Mr Jónas Þór GUOMUNDSSON
  • Mr Stefán Geir ÞORISSON

Appendix 2 – Members of the committee who participated in the meeting

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

  • Mr Corneliu Mugurel COZMANCIUC, Romania
  • Mr Pablo HISPÁN, Spain
  • Mr Volker ULLRICH, Germany
  • Mr Sergiy VLASENKO, Ukraine – First Vice Chairperson

Socialists, Democrats and Greens Group (SOC)

  • Ms Margreet De BOER, Netherlands
  • Ms Klotilda BUSHKA, Albania
  • Mr Boriss CILEVIČS, Latvia
  • Mr Titus CORLĂŢEAN, Romania – Chairperson
  • Mr Constantinos EFSTATHIOU, Cyprus
  • Mr Andrzej SZEJNA, Poland

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

  • Ms Stephanie KRISPER, Austria – Second Vice Chairperson

European Conservatives Group & Democratic Alliance (EC/DA)

  • Mr Erkin GADIRLI, Azerbaijan
  • Mr Serghii KALCHENKO, Ukraine
  • Sir Christopher CHOPE, United Kingdom

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

  • Mr Georgios KATROUGALOS, Greece

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

  • Ms Despina CHATZIVASSILIOU-TSOVILIS, Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly
  • Mr Mark NEVILLE, Director of Committees – Democracy and Rule of Law
  • Mr Günter SCHIRMER, Head of the Secretariat