Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

PACE to send ‘assessment mission’ to Azerbaijan’s constitutional referendum

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) is to send a seven-member 'assessment mission', headed by Aleksandar Nikoloski ('the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia', EPP/CD), to the 26 September referendum on amendments to the Constitution of Azerbaijan, following an invitation from the authorities.

The delegation, in Baku from 25 to 27th September, is due to meet the President of Azerbaijan, the Speaker of Parliament (the Milli Mejlis), the head of the Central Electoral Commission and members of Azerbaijan's delegation to PACE, as well as civil society and media representatives. On the day of the referendum, members will be present in polling stations.

The delegation is composed of:

Aleksandar Nikoloski ('the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia', EPP/CD), delegation head

Andrea Rigoni (Italy, ALDE)

Yanaki Stoilov (Bulgaria, SOC)

Antonio Gutièrrez (Spain, SOC)

Dominik Tarczyński (Poland, EC)

Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC), monitoring co-rapporteur for Azerbaijan Cezar Florin Preda (Romania, EPP/CD), monitoring co-rapporteur for Azerbaijan

The head of the delegation will present its conclusions at a press conference at 10.45 a.m. on Tuesday 27th September, at the Holiday Inn hotel, Baku.