Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Standing Committee meets in Paris

The Standing Committee of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) will meet in Paris on Friday 24 May 2019 under the French Chairmanship of the Council of Europe’s Committee of Ministers.

Following the opening speech by the PACE President Liliane Maury Pasquier and the welcome address by the First Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Carole Bureau-Bonnard, parliamentarians will have an exchange of views with Amélie de Montchalin, Minister of State for European Affairs, attached to the Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs.

The agenda includes debates on the evaluation of the partnership for democracy in respect of the Parliament of Morocco, air pollution and public health, sustainable urban development and social inclusion and the health needs of adolescents in Europe. The Standing Committee will also discuss education and culture: new partnerships to recognise personal development and competences as well as recent missions to observe presidential elections in Ukraine and North Macedonia.

* * *

The meeting of the Standing Committee, which is open to the press, will take place on Friday 24 May from 9 am to 1.30 pm at the French National Assembly (Salle Lamartine), 101 rue de l’Université, Paris 7ème (Métro: Invalides/Assemblée nationale). For accreditation, please complete the form by noon on Monday 20 May at the latest.

Access by accredited journalists is limited to the press galleries. Cameras will only be allowed at the very beginning of the meeting for two minutes of shooting. TV footage of the meeting is available on request from [email protected]

Contact: Micaela Catalano, Head of the PACE Communication Division
tel. +33 (0)6 08 56 40 65; [email protected]

(*) The Standing Committee, which acts on the Assembly's behalf between plenary sessions, is made up of the President and Vice-Presidents of the Assembly, the chairpersons of political groups, the chairpersons of national delegations and the committee chairpersons, totalling some 60 parliamentarians from the 47 member States of the Council of Europe.