Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

PACE reviews progress of Council of Europe states under monitoring in 2020

PACE today adopted its annual report taking stock of its monitoring activities in 2020 and making a series of assessments of the progress of the countries subject to the monitoring procedure or engaged in post-monitoring dialogue.

There are eleven countries subject to the full monitoring procedure (Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova, Poland, the Russian Federation, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine), and three countries engaged in post-monitoring dialogue (Bulgaria, Montenegro and North Macedonia).

The adopted resolution, based on a report by Michael Aastrup Jensen (Denmark, ALDE), welcomes positive developments and progress made, and expresses concern at remaining shortcomings in each of the countries concerned, as well as making specific recommendations.

In 2020, the Monitoring Committee also prepared an urgent report on the crackdown on political opposition and civil dissent in Turkey, and initiated a current affairs debate on the military hostilities in Nagorno Karabakh, as well as exchanges of views with the participation of parliamentarians from both sides.