Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

PACE President: Assembly members will not be restricted in the exercise of their mandate

Rik / Hendrik / Daems / President

Rik Daems, the President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), has strongly regretted that Jacques Maire, member of the Assembly, President of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) group in the Assembly, and Assembly Rapporteur, including for matters related to the Russian Federation, has been placed on a non-entry list of European Union nationals issued by the Russian Federation.

Speaking today to the Ambassador of the Russian Federation, the President of the Assembly recalled the obligations of all Council of Europe member States in accordance with the General Agreement on Privileges and Immunities of the Council of Europe, in particular regarding free movement of all members of the Assembly for the purpose of Assembly-related activities. While explaining the reasoning behind the decision of the Russian Federation, the Ambassador confirmed during the meeting that the Russian Federation does not call into question its commitment under the above agreement.

The President stated unequivocally that restrictive measures on members of the Parliamentary Assembly, in the exercise of their mandate, are incompatible with Council of Europe principles and standards.