Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

PACE Standing Committee met in Dublin

The Irish Parliament, Dublin, Ireland

The Standing Committee (*) of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), which brings together around 60 of the Assembly’s leading members, met in Dublin on Tuesday 31st May 2022.

There were welcome addresses by the Speakers of both houses of the Oireachtas, the Irish Parliament, and an exchange of views with Simon Coveney, Ireland’s Foreign Affairs and Defence Minister, who currently chairs the Council of Europe’s Committee of Ministers.

Reports debated included access to abortion in Europe: stopping anti-choice harassment; gender mainstreaming of migration policies; addiction to prescribed medicines; and eradicating extreme child poverty in Europe as an international obligation and a moral duty.

Ireland took up the six-month Presidency of the Council of Europe's Committee of Ministers on 20th May 2022.

Special page
More on the Assembly
Web page of the Presidency of Ireland


(*) The Standing Committee, which acts on the Assembly’s behalf between plenary sessions, is made up of the President and Vice-Presidents of the Assembly, the chairpersons of political groups, the chairpersons of national delegations and the committee chairpersons, totalling some 60 parliamentarians from the Council of Europe’s 46 member States.