Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

PACE reviews progress of member States under monitoring in 2022

Debate: Developments in the Assembly's monitoring procedure (January-December 2022) - Presentation by Mr Piero FASSINO, Italy, SOC, rapporteur, AS/Mon

In adopting a resolution today, based on a report by Piero Fassino (Italie, SOC) – which takes stock of the PACE monitoring activities in 2022 and makes a series of assessments of the countries under a full monitoring procedure or engaged in post-monitoring dialogue, as well as of countries that are currently subject to the procedure for the periodic review of membership obligations to the Council of Europe – the Assembly welcomed positive developments and progress made, and expressed concern about some remaining shortcomings in each of the countries concerned, as well as making specific recommendations.

The adopted text recalls that there are eleven countries under the full monitoring procedure (Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Hungary, the Republic of Moldova, Poland, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine), and three countries engaged in post-monitoring dialogue (Bulgaria, Montenegro and North Macedonia). The periodic monitoring is currently being carried out for three States (France, the Netherlands, and San Marino).

PACE underlined that, following the Committee of Ministers’ decision on 16 March to expel Russia from the Council of Europe, in reaction to the Russian aggression against Ukraine, the monitoring procedure with regard to this country was immediately closed, as the mandate of the Monitoring Committee is limited to Council of Europe member States.

Finally, the parliamentarians stressed the need for a more balanced gender representation in the nominations by the groups, both for Committee membership and for rapporteur positions.