Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

The commemoration of the 25th anniversary of the nuclear disaster at Chernobyl

Motion for a resolution | Doc. 12334 | 07 July 2010

Mr Pieter OMTZIGT, Netherlands ; Ms Lise CHRISTOFFERSEN, Norway, SOC ; Ms Ingrida CIRCENE, Latvia, EPP/CD ; Mr Miljenko DORIĆ, Croatia, ALDE ; Mr Joseph FALZON, Malta, EPP/CD ; Mr Jean-Claude FRÉCON, France, SOC ; Mr Valeriu GHILETCHI, Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD ; Ms Ana GUŢU, Republic of Moldova, ALDE ; Mr Jean HUSS, Luxembourg, SOC ; Ms Stella JANTUAN, Republic of Moldova, SOC ; Ms Birgen KELEŞ, Turkey, SOC ; Mr Aleksei LOTMAN, Estonia, UEL ; Mr Pietro MARCENARO, Italy, SOC ; Ms Zaruhi POSTANJYAN, Armenia, EPP/CD ; Mr François ROCHEBLOINE, France, EPP/CD ; Mr René ROUQUET, France ; Mr Giacomo SANTINI, Italy, EPP/CD ; Mr Magnús Orri SCHRAM, Iceland, SOC ; Ms Maria STAVROSITU, Romania, EPP/CD ; Ms Doris STUMP, Switzerland, SOC

On the 26th of April 1986, the worst nuclear disaster in history took place in the nuclear powerplant near Chernobyl in Ukraine, causing a number of direct casualties. The consequences of the disaster both on the health of the people concerned as well as on the environment continue to be extensive up to the present date.

After 25 years, it is time to evaluate the long term consequences of this disaster on:

  • the environment;
  • human health;
  • the economic and social situation

in both Belarus and Ukraine.

Several NGO’s in the affected countries, but also in other member states of the Council of Europe have been working for almost 25 years to bring direct aid to the victims and to improve the situation of the local population.

The 2011 second part-session of the Parliamentary Assembly is an excellent occasion to answer these questions, to commemorate the victims and to reunite the people involved and interested.