Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Landerneau (France) and Hünfeld (Germany) win the 2011 Europe Prize


Strasbourg, 14.04.2011 – The 2011 Europe Prize has been awarded jointly to the towns of Landerneau (France) and Hünfeld (Germany). This decision was taken unanimously by the Committee on the Environment, Agriculture and Local and Regional Affairs of the Council of Europe’s Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) at its April plenary session in Strasbourg.

Already winners of the European Diploma, the Flag of Honour and the Plaque of Honour of the Council of Europe, both towns have been twinned for more than forty years and have developed links between people from all levels of society. While Landerneau is also twinned with Caernarfon (Wales) and has friendship links with Mioveni (Romania), Hünfeld has developed an active twinning with Proszkow (Poland), Steinberg in Vogtland (Germany) and has friendship links with Geisa in Thuringia (Germany).

Through this choice, the committee also wanted to show that even small local authorities could aspire to this distinction, which was awarded to Kharkiv (Ukraine) in 2010 and Ankara (Turkey) in 2009. It is the second time that the Europe Prize is awarded to two twinned municipalities. In 2000, Cockermouth (United Kingdom) and Marvejols (France) were jointly awarded this prize.

Created by PACE in 1955, the Europe Prize is the highest distinction that can be bestowed on a European town for its actions in the European domain. The prize consists of a trophy, a medal, a diploma and a scholarship to be spent on a study visit within Europe for young people from the winning town.
* * *

The Plaque of Honour, which is the second highest distinction after the Europe Prize, was awarded to ten municipalities:

Austria St Georgen am Walde (Upper Austria)
Belgium Evergem (Eastern Flanders) together with Großenkneten (Germany)
France Chauray (Deux-Sèvres)
Germany Durach (Bavaria)
Großenkneten (Lower Saxony) together with Evergem (Belgium)
Kuppenheim (Baden-Württemberg)
Rheine (North Rhine-Westphalia)
Weinstadt (Baden-Württemberg)
Lithuania Šilutė (Klaipeda County)
Poland Będzin (woj. Śląskie)

The Flag of Honour was awarded to 17 municipalities this year:

France Alfortville (Val-de-Marne)
Arnage (Sarthe)
Georgia Tbilisi
Germany Erlangen (Bavaria)
Flotwedel (Lower Saxony)
Gerbrunn (Bavaria)
Kosel (Schleswig-Holstein)
Montabaur (Rhineland-Palatinate)
Puchheim (Bavaria)
Italy Fortezza/Franzensfeste (Prov. de Bolzano)
Lithuania Birzai (Panevezys County)
Poland Barlinek (woj. Zachodniopomorskie)
Serock (woj. Mazowieckie)
Wałcz (woj. Zachodniopomorskie)
Spain Sant Joan de les Abadesses (Catalonia)
Ukraine Lutsk (Volyn Oblast)
United Kingdom Perth (Scotland)

18 municipalities were granted the European Diploma:

Croatia Cres
France Langeais (Indre-et-Loire)
Le Vésinet (Yvelines)
Massy (Essonne)
Thonon-les-Bains (Haute-Savoie)
Germany Bergen auf Rügen (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania)
Göttingen (Lower Saxony)
Jettingen (Baden-Württemberg)
Nauheim (Hessen)
Straubing (Bavaria)
Italy Cervia (Province of Ravenna)
Poland Jabłonka (woj. Małopolskie)
Korfantów (woj. Opolskie)
Puławy (woj. Lubelskie)
Sopot (woj. Pomorskie)
Sulęcin (woj. Lubuskie)
Russia Belgorod