Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

European Diplomas of the Council of Europe: 26 municipalities rewarded in 2013

Strasbourg, 27.06.2013 – Liliane Maury Pasquier (Switzerland, SOC), Chairperson of the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) and Sir Alan Meale (United Kingdom, SOC), Chairperson of the PACE Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize, today presented the 2013 European Diploma to the mayors of 26 prize-winning municipalities, at a ceremony at Council of Europe headquarters in Strasbourg.

The prize-winners are:

Nicosia (Cyprus)
Aix-en-Othe, Charleville-Mézières and Longueau (France)
Gotha, Niederstotzingen and Pfinztal (Germany)
Cavan and Shannon (Ireland)
Benna, Colletorto and Piedicavallo (Italy)
Bielsko-Biała, Kobylnica, Stare Miasto and Swarzędz (Poland)
Barakaldo (Spain)
Manisa (Turkey)
Cherkasy, Chernihiv, Yevpatoriya, Illyichivsk, Vinnytsia, Sumy and Ternopil (Ukraine)
Northampton (United Kingdom)

The Diploma not only acknowledges the work done at European level by the prize-winning municipalities, but also serves as an incentive to develop it further through contacts with twin towns and other European partners.

The European Diploma was first presented by the Parliamentary Assembly in 1988. The winning municipalities may then also be awarded the Flag of Honour, the Plaque of Honour and, finally, the Europe Prize, the highest honour (awarded in 2013 to the German town of Altötting and the Hungarian town of Tata).