Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

European Diplomas of the Council of Europe: 12 municipalities rewarded in 2015

Axel E. Fischer (Germany, EPP/CD), Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) presented today the 2015 European Diploma to the mayors of 12 prize-winning municipalities, at a ceremony at Council of Europe headquarters in Strasbourg.

The prize-winners are:

- Lourdes (France)
- Stutensee (Germany)
- Candelo (Italy)
- Birštonas (Lithuania)
- Kielce et Reńska Wieś (Poland)
- Kanjiza (Serbia)
- Büyükçekmece et Karşıyaka (Turkey)
- Khmelnytskyi et Rivne (Ukraine)
- Burnley (United Kingdom)

The European Diploma not only acknowledges the work done at European level by the prize-winning municipalities, but also serves as an incentive to develop this work further through contacts with twin towns and other European partners.

The European Diploma was first presented by the Parliamentary Assembly in 1988. The winning municipalities may then also be awarded the Flag of Honour, the Plaque of Honour and, finally, the Europe Prize, the highest honour (awarded in 2015 to Dresden in Germany and Vara in Sweden).