Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

PACE names four states whose laws risk leaving children stateless

Laws on nationality in Cyprus, Norway, Romania and Switzerland “contain insufficient or no safeguards against childhood statelessness, in breach of regional and international obligations,” according to a resolution adopted by PACE Standing Committee, meeting in Paris today.

The adopted text lists another 11 Council of Europe member states which have “conditional safeguards which do not provide full protection against child statelessness”.

The resolution, based on a report by Manlio di Stefano (Italy, NR), underlines that “in some Council of Europe member states parents cannot pass on their nationality to their children, and in others the safeguard is dependent on residence requirements which do not comply with international norms”.