Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

European Diplomas awarded to seven municipalities in 2017

The mayors of seven municipalities were today presented with the 2017 European Diploma, honouring their work to promote the European ideal, at a ceremony at the Council of Europe headquarters in Strasbourg.

The European Diploma, awarded by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), is the first step towards the prestigious Europe Prize.

The winning towns are:


Bergkamen (North Rhine-Westphalia)
Denzlingen (Baden-Württemberg)


Samos (Samos municipality)


Ponte San Nicolò (Province of Padua)


Ostrów Wielkopolski (Voivodship of Wielkopolskie)
Morawica (Voivodship of Świętokrzyskie)


Kikinda (Vojvodina)

The European Diploma not only acknowledges the work done at European level by the prize-winning municipalities, but also serves as an incentive to develop this work further through contacts with twin towns and other municipal partners.

The European Diploma was first presented by the Parliamentary Assembly in 1988. The winning municipalities may then also apply for the Flag of Honour, the Plaque of Honour and, finally, the Europe Prize, the highest honour (awarded in 2017 to Lublin in Poland).