Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

The Europe Prize Sub-Committee awards twenty-six distinctions

Saint Germain En Laye

The Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize decided on 19 May 2020 to award 8 Plaques of Honour (to municipalities in France, Germany, Italy, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine), 6 Flags of Honour (to municipalities in Germany, Poland, Spain, Turkey and Ukraine) and 12 European Diplomas (to municipalities in Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Turkey and Ukraine), distinctions which are all part of the Europe Prize.

The decision on the winning city of the Europe Prize will be taken in the summer. The six cities shortlisted for the 2020 Europe Prize are Amilly (France), Bamberg and Münster (Germany), Birštonas (Lithuania), Bolesławiec and Sopot (Poland).

Created by PACE in 1955, the Europe Prize is the highest distinction that can be bestowed on a European town for its actions in the European domain. The prize consists of a trophy, a medal, a diploma and a scholarship to be spent on a study visit to European institutions for young people from the winning town.

The Sub-Committee also awards Plaques of Honour, Flags of Honour and European Diplomas – awards which also form part of the Europe Prize.