Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Václav Havel Human Rights Prize 2023: call for nominations

Václav Havel Human Rights Price
©Council of Europe

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), in partnership with the Václav Havel Library and the Charta 77 Foundation, has issued a call for nominations for the 2023 Václav Havel Human Rights Prize.

The Prize, created in 2013, aims to reward outstanding civil society action in defending human rights in Europe and beyond. Candidates should have made a real difference to the human rights situation of a given group, been instrumental in uncovering large-scale systemic violations, or have successfully mobilised public opinion or the international community for a cause.

The deadline for submitting nominations for the eleventh edition of the Prize is 30 June 2023.

Nominations should be sent to the Parliamentary Assembly by e-mail to the following address: [email protected], using the form available on the Prize web page. They should be signed by at least five sponsors and submitted in either English or French.

The Prize, which will be awarded in October 2023 in Strasbourg, consists of a sum of €60,000, a trophy and a diploma.

Since its creation, the Prize has been awarded to Vladimir Kara-Murza (Russian Federation), Maria Kalesnikava (Belarus), Loujain Alhathloul (Saudi Arabia), jointly to Ilham Tohti (China) and the Youth Initiative for Human Rights (Balkans), Oyub Titiev (Russian Federation), Murat Arslan (Turkey), Nadia Murad (Iraq), Ludmilla Alexeeva (Russian Federation), Anar Mammadli (Azerbaijan) and Ales Bialiatski (Belarus).

Václav Havel Human Rights Prize web page

Video: “It’s time to run”

For further information, please contact:

- PACE: Isild Heurtin, tel. +33 3 90 21 41 00, [email protected]

- Václav Havel Library: Zuzana Hocková, tel. +420 222 220 112, [email protected]

- Charta 77 Foundation: Gabriela Švagrová, tel. +420 224 214 452, [email protected]