Logo Assembly Logo Hemicycle

Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development

Did you know?

The committee is responsible for awarding the Europe Prize, created in 1955, which recognises the contribution made by towns and cities to promotion of the European ideal. The Prize is divided into four parts: the European Diploma, the Flag of Honour, the Plaque of Honour and the Europe Prize itself. The winner of the 2019 Prize is Donostia/San Sebastián (Spain).

In January 2024, Mr Simon Moutquin (Belgium, SOC) was elected as Chairperson of the Committee.

The Bureau of the Committee also elected by acclamation:
- Mr Simon Moutquin (Belgium, SOC), Chairperson
- Ms Danuta Jasłowiecka (Poland, PPE/DC), first Vice-Chairperson
- Mr Armen Gevorgyan (EC/DA), second Vice-Chairperson
- Mr Pedro Cegonho (Portugal, SOC), third Vice-Chairperson

The Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development supports the development and implementation of the Council of Europe standards through parliamentary action. With the help of voluntary contributions from national parliaments, it organises parliamentary seminars, contributes to awareness raising campaigns and produces practical handbooks.